Piolin En la Manana-Was It Discrimination? “Guerro” Attorney given the boot!


Denver Attorney Booted Off of Piolin Freedom Caravan  Abogado de Denver Expulsado de Piolin Caravana de Libertad

Este articulo es en espanol abajo   The Piolin en La Manana People Dumped Him Off at a Truck Stop

Enlavidanueva@yahoo.com

   Abogado de Denver Expulsado de Piolin En La Manana Caravana

WHEAT RIDGE, CO Lawyer victim of Denver racism, CO. -

Tim Paynter has dedicated himself for years to fight for the rights of the undocumented immigrants who come to this country in search of a better quality of life. The deportations, the separation of families, children whom they have to live with relatives or friends since their parents have been victims of the “injustices” of the present migratory system, are things that generate in Tim feelings of sympathy and union towards this community so marginalized in this country.

Tim advocates undocumented aliens be treated the same under our laws. Tim Paynter, whose profession is a lawyer, has offered legal advice to many families of immigrants who have been victims of discrimination in this country.

The national Reporter had the opportunity to know Tim, “a man dedicated to his profession and mainly to serve the Latin community”, expressed aravana por Libertad

Doctor Antonio Flores, publisher of this newspaper. “many Hispanic people have come into our offices to complain about the abuse against them or their relatives because of the simple fact of being undocumented”. “We have sent these people to Tim so that he can help them in their immigration problems or offer direction to them”, indicated to doctor Flores.

The national Reporter, roundly denies that Mr. Paynter has some type of relation with the organization of the “Minuteman”.

“I have known Tim for 10 years or more and can affirm that he is a person who always has dedicated himself to help the Latin community, as a lawyer, he knows the immigration laws and always fights for immigrant rights”, the director of the tabloid commented.

In spite of his color, of his race, Paynter strongly supports immigration reform for all those who, with great sacrifice, manage to arrive in this “land of opportunities”.

But, in spite of his activism with the Latin community, Tim also has felt discrimination in his hands. Recently, after joining the caravan organized by the radio personality Eduardo `Piolín’ Sotelo, the lawyer was accused and presumed a member of the “Minuteman”, and was expelled from the march to Washington, with the allegation Tim had infiltrated the caravan to give integral details to anti immigrant groups.

The national Reporter asks if the action of the director (of the program) towards Tim is not a way to make more publicity (for the radio station) and to generate ill-disposed controversy about the immigrant movement and against people that but for the simple fact of being “güeras” (Caucasian) do not fit in the caravan destined for several cities in the country?

Paynter saw, after this event, the opportunity to relate the chronicle of his passage which began with an enormous desire to support his “Latino brothers” and finished with the horrible experience of being accused a supporter of the “Minuteman”.

The experience of Tim:   My name is Tim Paynter. I am a “guerro” lawyer who was expelled from the Piolin bus, which went to Washington D.C, to distribute petitions in favor of  immigration reform.

I do not blame to the `Piolín’ team. They could not see how a guerro could be on their side. Our enemies win when friends are afraid of friends.

All this began when my friend, Jimmy and I heard that `Piolín’ was going to be in  Albuquerque, New Mexico. As we were driving from Denver, Colorado to Albuquerque, we listened to the radio. `Piolín’ was transmitting live from Albuquerque. There were buses, people arriving from all parts preparing for the caravan to Washington

 “ Why don’t you go with them? ”, Jimmy asked  me. “They will  make space for you in the bus, especially when they know how much you support them”.

“ What? ”, “ are you crazy? ”  I responded to him.

Jimmy had his reasons. He had listened to me speak constantly about the injustices of the immigration system. Many of my clients are immigrants and their histories make me feel very sad. Separated families by the deportations, how the North American laws are applied differently to undocumented immigrant and American citizen, the way in which children of undocumented immigrants undergo the separation of their parents and mothers and the opportunity of a worthy education. Thousands of people cannot access medical care unless they are nearly at the point of death.

 In Colorado, they have been trying to force jailed immigrants to work in the field s like slaves to replace the undocumented people who, because of the hostile atmosphere, avoid the state of Colorado.  

“You are angrier about the immigration laws than most immigrants are”, Jimmy said with some humor.  And for me it is true.  For me, this is not only about immigration.  It is also about America, the home of the free and the brave.  The truth is not only an immigration matter.   There is nothing free or brave in our current immigration system.  We are forcing an entire population of immigrants into being second class citizens.  

I strongly believe in protecting our borders to make the country more score.  But no one is speaking about the injustice that our immigrant population lives with. So where are the free? Where are the brave?  

The march in Albuquerque was very emotional.  Piolin was transmitting live on the radio.  Hundreds of people were in line to tell their story.  Others arrive with water and food for the caravan  various television stations were present.  The police were on site as well as protestors. 

We began to ask if someone had space for a crazy gringo (humor) that wanted to fight for the pro immigration cause.  There were two kinds of answers.  “We will find space”  and “Sorry, but there is not space because our insurance policy will not permit us to let your come.” 

Suddenly, someone put a mini camera in my face.  It was Roberto, a member of the Piolin team. 

“What do you think of all of this?”  He asked me.  “Huba Huba” was about all I could say.  I had not slept all night and I was not able to think well.  I let the opportunity to tell my new friends why this northamerican was on their side.  
 
In the end, no one seemed interested in letting a gringo attorney board the caravan. There was not space in the caravan for me.  As an attorney I learned the excuse, “we don’t have insurance” is a good one to use.  You can keep those people out who you want out    If you change your mind a simple waiver solves the problem. 

All of a sudden there was a fight, apparently provoked by the minutemen.  The buses quickly boarded and left the area.  Many cars followed. 

Jimmy and I ran to our Toyota and followed, as well.

“Shall we go to Washington?” I asked Jimmy.  “To be part of the march for freedom is something we will never forget!”

This was our chance to speak, to say to everyone in America, Hey, I am afraid (of the minutemen and fanatical thinking) but I am not willing to remain quiet”.  Now is the time to stand together with my Latino brothers.  I believe in the security of the border and I consider myself very patriotic, but what we are doing in this country is not just.  

The word “to speak” is a term of art. For an Anglo to be part of the caravan is a way to speak out without saying a word.  I did not have to say one thing.  Others thought the same.  

“What about work”  “How can we drive all day after driving all night?”  We had our doubts.

In a few minutes the buses arrived at a rest area.  One more time we asked “Is there space for a gringo?” in the caravan for freedom? 

It was obvious some wanted me to go and others did not.  Finally, someone said, “Why don’t you ask Piolin?” 

And there he was, Eduardo Piolin Sotelo.  We found him in the middle of a large crowd.  Everyone wanted his attention.  I was surprised to see him.  He was short like me.  He was very charismatic. 

He must have listened because two minutes later  I was traveling in an automobile from the Piolin radio show together with two new friends, Juan Carlos and Albany.  We were the last  vehicle in the caravan on our way to Dallas, Chicago and Washington to say to the world why the injustice in America had to stop. 

I could not believe I was living this experience!  I was sure to remember this for the rest of my life.  Unfortunately, some of my Latino brothers were not sure of their new friend.  Some were convinced I was a Minuteman under cover. 

The Minutemen are a private militia organization that patrols the border.  They are armed.  Some are trained in police tactics.  Others have no training. As vigilantes, they take justice into their own hands. 

“What do you think about the minutemen?”. Albany asked me.  The question left me in shock.  How could I be in a caravan of Latinos and at the same time say good things about the minutemen?

I told Albany I was not in agreement with the minutemen and I could never be part of their group.  The conversation changed and we began talking about the importance to have unity in the Latino community and in America to work for immigration reform. Juan Carlos expressed his faith in god and I agreed with his beliefs. 

Hours later, we arrived in Amarillo, Texas to buy gas.  One of those in the caravan was the president and owner of the two largest Spanish T.V. stations in Las Angeles, affiliated as I understand it with Univision.   I expressed to this man my sincere desire to work with the pro immigration movement and to help in any way I could.  

Shortly, a group of people began asking me things about whether I was an attorney, and why was I there.  Some doubted my presence and approval of the caravan.   

“Let me know what it is you need and I am at your orders” I told them.  I believe that they did not know how to respond to me.  In the first place, they were not accustomed to having a gringo on their side and here he was, offering his help. 
]
My best intentions were misunderstood.  A man asked me for my business card.  I told him that I did not bring one. I told him if he would tell me what state he had trouble in I would see if I could send him to the right place.  I am only licensed in Colorado. I figured he was asking for my card because he needed legal help.  I still had not caught on to what they were thinking.  It just did not dawn on me they thought I was an infiltrator.  

The man responded, “I don’t have any legal problems!” and huffed away. 

Other persons began to ask me what I thought of the Minutemen.  What was my motive to be with them?  I gave them my driver’s license and my Colorado Supreme Court bar card, which is an attorney’s identification.  No one wanted to make a simple phone call to the office of the Supreme Court to verify my status.  

After a few minutes, they told me I was a risk and asked me to leave the caravan.  I was in shock.  Why can’t my Latino brother believe I was on their side?  The hate, the anger, the discrimination, the unjust treatment of an oppressed people, this is not only an immigration problem for people who suffer injustice.  From my point of view, this is a problem for all Americans that believe in the principles of liberty and equality for all. 

We need to stand up and shout, “This is not the way we treat people in a free society!”  It is time to for us to speak up for those who have no voice and say “Yes we are afraid but we will no longer be silent.  I am here to be on your side, the side of the immigrants.” 

All of this was what I wanted to say to Piolin’s chief of security.  All I could get out was, “I am the best friend the Latinos could ever have”   
 
I won’t repeat the words said to me by the chief of security.  It serves no purpose.  They were words of hate.  They were words of rejection. 

I took a bus back to Denver.  When I got back, the Piolin en La Manana show was on the radio.  The theme of the day?  The minuteman who tried to infiltrate the caravan.  He was a religious fanatic who was sending messages by text and reporting the position of the caravan. 
During the following days I spoke with Roberto from the Piolin team who had put me on his mini camera when I met him in Albuquerque.  He wanted me to go to Chicago and then to Washington.  “Put on your suit and bring your documents that show you are an attorney” he told me.  Some of my brothers and sisters knew that I was with them and now was the time to make things right.  

I asked Roberto to have his chief of security call me.  He told me everyone was very busy.  This was something I needed to do in person.  In the end, I decided not to go.  The climate
of fear and distrust had affected everyone, including me.  In this aspect, my enemies were winning. 

My name is Tim Paynter.  I am an attorney from Denver, Colorado.  I live in the immigrant community.  I strongly support just immigration reform leading to a rapid path to citizenship.

I am here asking my Latino brothers if I can stand by their side.   The immigration bill was defeated today.  We hope it might be revived sometime in the near future.  From my point of view, part of the reason for the defeat was the absolute refusal of the Latino community to ask the rest of us for help, or to accept the help when it was offered.

  My dear friend Antonio Flores, who Owns Reportero newspaper, wrote a tough article about the Piolin debacle.  Who knows if anything will come of all of this.  Maybe it is time for me to move down the road.

      The following is an article written by Antonio Flores with El Reportero.

WHEAT RIDGE, CO Lawyer victim of Denver racism, CO. -

Tim Paynter has dedicated himself for years to fight for the rights of the undocumented immigrants who come to this country in search of a better quality of life. The deportations, the separation of families, children whom they have to live with relatives or friends since their parents have been victims of the “injustices” of the present migratory system, are things that generate in Tim feelings of sympathy and union towards this community so marginalized in this country.

Tim advocates undocumented aliens be treated the same under our laws. Tim Paynter, whose profession is a lawyer, has offered legal advice to many families of immigrants who have been victims of discrimination in this country.

The national Reporter had the opportunity to know Tim, “a man dedicated to his profession and mainly to serve the Latin community”, expressed doctor Antonio Flores, publisher of this newspaper. “many Hispanic people have come into our offices to complain about the abuse against them or their relatives because of the simple fact of being undocumented”. “We have sent these people to Tim so that he can help them in their immigration problems or offer direction to them”, indicated to doctor Flores.

The national Reporter, roundly denies that Mr. Paynter has some type of relation with the organization of the “Minuteman”.

“I have known Tim for 10 years or more and can affirm that he is a person who always has dedicated himself to help the Latin community, as a lawyer, he knows the immigration laws and always fights for immigrant rights”, the director of the tabloide commented.

In spite of his color, of his race, Paynter strongly supports immigration reform for all those who, with great sacrifice, manage to arrive in this “land of opportunities”.

But, in spite of his activism with the Latin community, Tim also has felt discrimination in his hands. Recently, after joining the caravan organized by the radio personality Eduardo `Piolín’ Sotelo, the lawyer was accused and presumed a member of the “Minuteman”, and was expelled from the march to Washington, with the allegation Tim had infiltrated the caracan to give integral details to anti immigrant groups.

The national Reporter asks if the action of the director (of the program) towards Tim is not a way to make more publicity (for the radio station) and to generate ill-disposed controversy about the immigrant movement and against people that but for the simple fact of being “güeras” (caucasion) do not fit in the caravan destined for several cities in the country?

Paynter saw, after this event, the opportunity to relate the chronicle of his passage which began with an enormous desire to support his “Latino brothers” and finished with the horrible experience of being accused a supporter of the “Minuteman”.

The experience of Tim:   My name is Tim Paynter. I am a “guerro” lawyer who was expelled from the Piolin bus, which went to Washington D.C, to distribute petitoins in favor of a immigration reform.

I do not blame to the `Piolín’ team. They could not see how a guerro could be on their side. Our enemies win when friends are afraid of friends.

All this began when my friend, Jimmy and I heard that `Piolín’ was going to be in  Albuquerque, New Mexico. As we were driving from Denver, Colordo to Albuquerque, we listened to the radio. `Piolín’ was transmitting live from Albuquerque. There were buses, people arriving from all parts preparing for the caravan to Washington

 “ Why don’t you go with them? ”, Jimmy asked  me. “They will  make space for you in the bus, esspecially when they know how much you support them”.

“ What? ”, “ are you crazy? ”  I responded to him.

Jimmy had his reasons. He had listened to me speak constantly about the injustices of the immigration system. Many of my clients are immigrants and their histories make me feel very sad. Separated families by the deportations, how the North American laws are applied differently to undocumented immigrant and American citizen, the way in which children of undocumented immigrants undergo the separation of their parents and mothers and the opportunity of a worthy education. Thousands of people cannot access medical care unless they are nearly at the point of death.

 In Colorado, they have been trying to force jailed immigrants to work in the field s like slaves to replace the undocumented people who, because of the hostile atmosphere, avoid the state of Colorado.  

“You are more angry about the immigrantion laws than most immigrants are”, Jimmy said with some humor.  And for me it is true.  For me, this is not only about immigration.  It is also about America, the the home of the free and the brave.  The truth is not only an immigration matter.   There is nothing free or brave in our current immigration system.  We are forcing an entire population of imigrants into being second class citizens.  

I strongly believe in protecting our borders to make the country more scure.  But no one is speaking about the injustice that our immigrant population lives with. So where are thre free? where are the brave?  

The march in Albuquerque was very emotional.  Piolin was transmitting live on the radio.  Hundreds of people were in line to tell their story.  Others arrive with water and food for the caravan  Various television stations were present.  The police were on site as well as protestors. 

We began to ask if someone had space for a crazy gringo (humor) that wanted to fight for the pro immigration cause.  There were two kinds of answers.  “We will find space”  and “Sorry, but there is not space becase our insurance policy will not permit us to let your come.” 

Suddently, someone put a mini camera in my face.  It was Roberto, a member of the Piolin team. 

“What do you think of all of this?”  He asked me.  “Huba Huba” was about all I could say.  I had not slept all night and I was not able to think well.  I let the opportunity to tell my new friends why this northamerican was on their side.  
 
In the end, no one seemed interested in letting a gringo attorney board the caravan. There was not space in the caravan for me.  As an attorney I learned the excuse, “we don’t have insurance” is a good one to use.  You can keep those people out who you want out    If you change your mind a simple waiver solves the problem. 

All of a sudden there was a fight, apparently provoked by the minutemen.  The buses quickly boarded and left the area.  Many cars followed. 

Jimmy and I ran to our Toyota and followed, as well.

“Shall we go to Washington?” I asked Jimmy.  “To be part of the march for freedom is something we will never forget!”

This was our chance to speak, to say to everyone in America, Hey, I am afraid (of the minutemen and fanatical thinking) but I am not willing to remain quiet”.  Now is the time to stand together with my Latino brothers.  I belive in the the security of the border and I consider myself very patriotic, but what we are doing in this country is not just.  

The word “to speak” is a term of art. For an anglo to be part of the caravan is a way to speak out without saying a word.  I did not have to say one thing.  Others thought the same.  

“What about work”  “How can we drive all day after driving all night?”  We had our doubts.

In a few minutes the buses arrived at a rest area.  One more time we asked “Is there space for a gringo?” in the caravan for freedom? 

It was obvious some wanted me to go and others did not.  Finally, someone said, “Why don’t you ask Piolin?” 

And there he was, Eduardo Piolin Sotelo.  We found him in the middle of a large crowd.  Everyone wanted his attention.  I was surprised to see him.  He was short like me.  He was very charismatic. 

He must have listened because two minutes later  I was traveling in an automobile from the Piolin radio show together with two new friends, Juan Carlos and Albany.  We were the last  vehicle in the caravan on our way to Dallas, Chicago and Washington to say to the world why the injustice in America had to stop. 

I could not believe I was living this experience!  I was sure to remeber this for the rest of my life.  Unfortunately, some of my Latino brothers were not sure of their new friend.  Some were convinced I was a Minuteman under cover. 

The Minutemen are a private militia organization that patrols the border.  They are armed.  Some are trained in police tactics.  Others have no training. As vigilantes, they take justice into their own hands. 

“What do you think about the minutemen?”. Albany asked me.  The question left me in shock.  How could I be in a caravan of Latinos and at the same time say good things about the minutemen?

I told Albany I was not in agreement with the minutement and I could never be part of their group.  The conversation changed and we began talking about the importance to have unity in the Latino comunity and in America to work for immigration reform. Juan Carlos expressed his faith in god and I agreed with his beliefs. 

Hours later, we arrived in Amarillo, Texas to buy gas.  One of those in the caravan was the president and owner of the two largest Spanish T.V. stations in Las Angeles, affiliated as I understand it with Univision.   I expressed to this man my sincere desire to work with the pro immigraton movement and to help in any way I could.  

Shortly, a group of people began asking me things about whether I was an attorney, and why was I there.  Some doubted my presence and approval of the caravan.   

“Let me know what it is you need and I am at your orders” I told them.  I believe that they did not know how to respond to me.  In the first place, they were not accustomed to having a gringo on their side and here he was, offering his help. 
]
My best intentions were misunderstood.  A man asked me for my business card.  I told him that I did not bring one. I told him if he would tell me what state he had trouble in I would see if I could send him to the right place.  I am only licensed in Colorado. I figured he was asking for my card because he needed legal help.  I still had not caught on to what they were thinking.  It just did not dawn on me they thought I was an infiltrator.  

The man responded, “I don’t have any legal problems!” and huffed away. 

Other persons began to ask me what did I think of the Minutemen?  What was my motive to be with them?  I gave them my driver’s license and my Colorado Supreme Court bar card, which is an attorney’s identification.  No one wanted to make a simple phone call to the office of the Supreme Court to verify my status.  

After a few minutes, they told me I was a risk and asked me to leave the caravan.  I was in shock.  Why can’t my Latino brother believe I was on their side?  The hate, the anger, the discrimination, the unjust treatment of an oppressed people, this is not only an immigration problem for people who suffer injustice.  From my point of view, this is a problem for all Americans that believe in the prinicples of liberty and equalty for all. 

We need to stand up and shout, “This is not the way we treat people in a free society!”  It is time to for us to speak up for those who have no voice and say “Yes we are afraid but we will no longer be silent.  I am here to be on your side, the side of the immigrants.” 

All of this was what I wanted to say to Piolin’s chief of security.  All I could get out was, “I am the best friend the Latinos could ever have”   
 
I won’t repeat the words said to me by the chief of security.  It serves no purpose.  They were words of hate.  They were words of rejection. 

I took a bus back to Denver.  When I got back, the Piolin en La Manana show was on the radio.  The theme of the day?  The minuteman who tried to infiltrate the caravan.  He was a religous fanatic who was sending messages by text and reporting the position of the caravan. 
During the following days I spoke with Roberto from the Piolin team who had put me on his mini camera when I met him in Albuquerque.  He wasnted me to go to Chicago and then to Washington.  “Put on your suit and bring your documents that show you are an attorney” he told me.  Some of my brothers and sisters knew that I was with them and now was the time to make things right.  

I asked Roberto to have his chief of security call me.  He told me everyone was very busy.  This was something I needed to do in person.  In the end, I decided not to go.  The climate
of fear and distrust had afected everyone, including me.  In this aspect, my enemies were winning. 

My name is Tim Paynter.  I am an attorney from Denver, Colorado.  I live in the immigrant community.  I srtongly support just immigration reform leading to a rapid path to citizenship.

I am here asking my Latino brothers if I can stand by their side.  

WHEAT RIDGE, CO
Abogado víctima de racismo
Denver, CO.- Tim Paynter se ha dedicado por años a abogar por los derechos de los inmigrantes indocumentados que vienen a este país en busca de una mejor calidad de vida. Las deportaciones, la separación de familias, niños que tienen que enfrentar una realidad con parientes o amigos ya que sus padres han sido víctimas de las “injusticias” del sistema migratorio actual, son cosas que generan en Tim un sentimiento de lucha y unión hacia esta comunidad tan marginada en este país.

Un norteamericano dispuesto a adherirse al a batalla pro inmigrante con tal de que los
hispanos que viven en este país sin documentación legal tengan los mismos derechos que tiene un ciudadano estadounidense.

De profesión abogado, Paynter ha brindado asesoría legal a muchas familias de inmigrantes que han sido víctimas de la discriminación en este país. El Reportero nacional tuvo la oportunidad de conocer a Tim, “un hombre dedicado a su profesión y sobre todo a servir a la comunidad latina”, expresó el doctor Antonio Flores, editor de este periódico. Como medio de información, “mucha gente hispana ha venido hasta nuestras oficinas a quejarse de algún abuso en contra de ellos o de sus familiares por el simple hecho de ser indocumentados”.

“Nosotros hemos enviado a esa gente con Tim para que se haga cargo de sus casos y los ayude con su status migratorio o les brinde orientación”, señaló el doctor Flores. El Reportero nacional, niega  otundamente que el señor Paynter tenga algún tipo de relación con la organización de los “Minuteman”. “Conozco a Tim desde hace 10 años o más y puedo afirmar que es una persona que siempre se ha dedicado a ayudar a la comunidad latina, como abogado, conoce las leyes de inmigración y siempre a visto por sus derechos”, comentó el director del tabloide.

A pesar de su color, de su raza, Paynter apoya indudablemente una reforma migratoria justa
para todos aquellos que con tanto sacrificio logran llegar a esta “tierra de oportunidades”.
Pero, pese a su activismo con la comunidad latina, Tim también ha sentido la discriminación en sus manos.

Recientemente, después de adherirse a la caravana organizada por el locutor Eduardo ‘Piolín’ Sotelo, el abogado fue acusado como presunto miembro de los “Minuteman”, y
fue expulsado de la marcha que tiene como objetivo llegar hasta Washington, con la argumentación de que se había infiltrado en la movilización para dar detalles a supuestos
integrantes del grupo antiinmigrante.

El Reportero nacional se pregunta ¿si esta maniobra del equipo del locutor hacia Tim
no será una manera de hacerse más publicidad y generar controversia mal intencionada del movimiento en contra de personas que por el simple hecho de ser “güeras” no tienen cupo en la caravana que el locutor lleva a cabo por varias ciudades del país?

Paynter vió, atravéz de este medio, la oportunidad de relatar la crónica de su travesía la cual empezó con un gusto enorme por apoyar a sus “hermanos latinos” y termino con la horrible experiencia de ser acusado como un simpatizante más de los “Minuteman”.

La experiencia de Tim Mi nombre es Tim Paynter. Soy el abogado “gringo” que fue  bajado del autobús donde viajaba la caravana del ‘Piolin’, la cual se dirigía a Washington D.C, para repartir peticiones a favor de una reforma migratoria.

Yo no culpo al equipo del ‘Piolín’. No pueden ver a un “güero” de su lado. Nuestro  enemigos ganan cuando hacen amigos asustando a amigos. 

Todo esto empezó cuando escuchamos que el ‘Piolín’ iba a estar en Albuquerque, Nuevo México.  Mi amigo Jimmy y yo nos dirigimos hacia esa ciudad. Tras manejar toda la noche, encendimos la radio. ‘Piolín’ estaba transmitiendo en vivo desde aquel lugar. Había autobuses, gente llegando de todas partes preparandose para la caravana que partiría hacia Washington.

“¿Por que no vas con ellos?”, me preguntó Jimmy.  “Te harán un espacio en el autobús, especialmente por que saben cuanto los apoyas”. “

¿Qué?”, “¿estás loco?”, le respondí.

Y es que Jimmy tenía sus razones para decir eso. El me había escuchado hablar recientemente y casi a diario, sobre las injusticias del sistema migratorio. Muchos de mis clientes son inmigrantes y sus historias me hacen sentir muy triste. Familias separadas por las deportaciones, cómo las leyes norteamericanas se aplican de diferente forma entre un inmigrante y un ciudadano estadounidense, la manera en que hijos de inmigrantes indocumentados sufren la separación de sus padres y madres y la oportunidad de una educación digna. Como miles de personas no pueden accesar a un servicio médico de realidad a menos de estar casi al borde de la muerte. 

En Colorado, han estado planeando forzar a inmigrantes encarcelados a trabajar en el
campo como esclavos para sustituir a los indocumentados que, por el ambiente hostil,
descartan esta región para venir a trabajar

“Tú estas más enojado que ni cualquier inmigrante respecto a las leyes de inmigración”, decía en forma de broma mi amigo.

Y es verdad. Para mí no se trata sólo de inmigración. Se trata de América, la casa de los llibres y valientes’.  No hay nada libre ni valeroso en nuestro actual sistema migratorio. Estamos forzando a una población entera de inmigrantes a ser ciudadanos de segunda clase argumentando una “protección fronteriza” para reforzar la seguridad. Nadie habla de la injusticia que viven los inmigrantes. Entonces, ¿donde está lo valeroso?

La marcha en Albuquerque fue muy emotiva. ‘Piolín’ estaba transmitiendo en vivo. Cientos de personas hacían fila para platicarle su historia. Otros llegaban con agua y comida para repartirla entre el equipo del locutor. Varias televisoras también estaban ahí al igual que policías y por supuesto, inconformes con el movimiento.

 Empezamos preguntando si alguien tenía lugar para un “gringo loco” que deseaba
pelear por la causa. Hubo dos clases de respuestas, “te encon–traremos un lugar” y “Disculpa, pero no hay espacio porque no estas dentro de nuestra poliza de seguro de
pasajeros”.

De repente, alguien pusó una mini cámara en mi cara. Era Roberto, miembro del equipo
de ‘Piolín’. “¿Qué piensas de todo esto?”, me preguntó. “Huba, huba”, fue todo lo que pude decir. No había dormido en toda la noche, así que no podía pensar bien. Deje pasar la
oportunidad para decirles a mis nuevos amigos el porqué este norteamericano estaba de su lado.

Al final de la marcha, nadie parecía estar interesado en “cargar” con un abogado “gringo”. No había espacio en la caravana para mí. Como abogado, he aprendido que “la poliza del seguro de pasajeros” es una buena excusa. Deja a la gente que quieres fuera, fuera. Si cambias de opinión, una simple cancelación del seguro resuelve el problema.

Tras una pelea, aparentemente provocada por un manifestante, los autobuses rapidamente abandonaron el estacionamiento donde nos encontrabamos y la caravana se dirigió hacia la carretera con miles tras ellos. Jimmy y yo nos subimos a nuestra camioneta Toyota y los seguimos.

¿Deberíamos seguirlos hasta Washington?, le pregunté a Jimmy.

“Ser parte de la marcha de la libertad va a ser algo que nunca olvidaremos”.

Esta era nuestra oportunidad de hablar, de decirle a América: “hey, talvéz tengo miedo
pero no estoy dispuesto a seguir callado”.  Es hora de ponerme de pie junto con mis hermanos latinos.  Creo en la seguridad fronteriza y me considero patriotico, pero lo que estamos haciendo en este país no es justo.

Hablar francamente es un tipo de arte. Para un “güero”, formar parte de la caravana es hablar de manera franca. No tuve que decir ni una sola palabra.Ambos pensabamos lo mismo. ¿Qué pasaría con nuestro trabajo?, ¿cómo manejaríamos todo el día tras haber manejado toda la noche?

Luego de un rato los autobuses llegaron a un área de descanso. Una vez más pedimos
asilo entre los presentes. ¿Hay lugar para un “gringo” en el sendero de la libertad? Era
obvio, algunos querían que permaneciera otros no. De repente, alguien dijo: “¿Porqué
no le preguntas a ‘Piolín’?

Ahí estaba. Eddie ‘Piolín’ Sotelo. Lo encontramos en medio de un tumulto de gente. Todos esperando su atención. Me quede sorprendido. Era un hombre “chaparro”, como yo. Muy carismático.

Debió haberme escuchado por que dos minutos después yo estaba viajando en el automóvil del ‘Piolín’ junto a dos nuevos amigos, Juan Carlos y Albany. Era el último vehículo de la caravana que visitaría Dallas, Chicago y Washington para decirle al mundo por qué debe terminar en América la injusticia.

No podía creer que estaba viviendo una experiencia que recordaré el resto de mi vida. Desafortunadamente, algunos de mis hermanos latinos no estaban tan seguros de mí. Algunos estaban convencidos de que yo era un “Minuteman” encubierto. Los “Minuteman” son una organización militar privada que patrulla la franja fronteriza. Andan armados. Algunos tienen algún entrenamiento policiaco. Otros no tienen nada. Como vigilantes, hacen justicia por su propia mano.

Eduardo “Piolín” Sotelo y el abogado Tim Paynter durante su estancia en la caravana
que lleva a cabo el locutor por varias ciudades de los Estados Unidos.
¿Qué piensas acerca de los Minuteman? me preguntó Albany. La pregunta me dejó en
shock.
¿Cómo es que nadie me lo había preguntado? ¿Cómo podía estar yo en un viaje de latinos y al mismo tiempo poder decir algo bueno de los “Minuteman”.
Le dije a Albany que no estaba de acuerdo con ellos y que nunca podría ser parte de ese grupo.La plática cambio y terminamos hablando de la importancia que tiene la unidad entre la
comunidad hispana y la americana para lograr una reforma migratoria.  Juan Carlos expresó su fe en Dios y coincidí con su comentario.
Horas después nos detuvimos en Amarillo, Texas a cargar gasolina. Entre los presentes
en la Caravana, estaba el presidente de Univisión, al cual expresé mi sincera intención
de colaborar con el movimiento.
De pronto, un grupo de personas se acercó a mi haciendome una serie de preguntas, que
si era abogado, que por qué estaba ahí. Algunos dudaban de mi presencia y apoyo a
la caravana.“Haganme saber lo que necesitan y yo estoy a sus ordenes”, les dije.
Creo que no supieron como responderme. En primer lugar, no estaban acostumbrados
 que un “gringo” estuviera de su lado, y ahora estaba ahí, ofreciendoles ayuda.
Mis buenas intenciones fueron mal entendidas.  Un hombre me pidió que mostrara alguna
identificación, alguna tarjeta de presentación que acreditara mi profesión.
Le respondí que no traía conmigo una tarjeta pero que si me decía en que estado tenía
algún tipo de problema legal, con gusto podía darle información sobre alguien que pudiera
ayudarle. El hombre se ofendió con mi respuesta. Pensé que necesitaba asesoría legal y me respondió que el no tenía ningún problema de ese tipo. Luego se fue.
Otras personas comenzaron a preguntarme que ¿qué pensaba de los “Minuteman” ? y
cual era el motivo de estar ahí. Les mostré mi licencia de manejo y la identificación como abogado en derecho emitida por la Suprema Corte del estado de Colorado.

Nadie quizó realizar una llamada a la oficina de la Suprema Corte y verificar mis datos.
Después de unos minutos, me dijeron que yo era un riesgo y me pidieron que
abandonara la movilización.

Estaba en shock. ¿Por qué mis hermanos latinos no creían que yo estaba de su lado?.
El odio, el coraje, la discriminación, el trato injusto de gente opresiva, este no es sólo un
problema de inmigrantes que sufren injusticias.

Desde mi punto de vista, este es un problema de todos los americanos que creen en los
principios de libertad e igualdad para todos.  Está en nosotros en alzar la voz y gritar: “esta
no es la manera como se debe tratar a la gente en una sociedad libre”. Es tiempo de
integrarse a una sociedad con menor voz y decirles: “si, tenemos miedo pero no
seguiremos guardando silencio. Estoy aquí para pararme a tu lado, el lado de los
inmigrantes”.

Todo eso era lo que quería decirle a la gente de seguridad de ‘Piolín’. Todo lo que pude
argumentar fue: “Soy el mejor amigo que jamas hallas tenido”.

Las palabras que me dijo el jefe de seguridad no las repetiré en este texto.

Tomé un autobús de regreso. A mi llegada a Denver, el programa del ‘Piolín’ estaba en la
radio. ¿El tema del día? El “Minuteman” que trató de infiltrarse en la caravana. Un fanático
religioso que enviaba mensajes de texto y reportaba la posición geográfica de la
caravana.

Durante los siguientes días hablé con Roberto, el del equipo del ‘Piolín’ que me
entrevistó con su cámara en Albuquerque. Quería que fuera a Chicago y luego a Washington.

“Ponte tu traje y trae tu documentación que te acredita como abogado”, me dijo.
Algunos de mis hermanos y hermanas sabían que yo estaba ahí por ellos, así que este era
el momento de hacer las cosas bien. Le pedí a Roberto que su jefe de seguridad
me llamara. Me dijo que estaba muy agoviado y que el malentendido tenía que arreglarse
en persona.

Al final, decidí no asistir. El clima de temor y desconfianza había afectado a todos, incluyendome a mi. En ese aspecto, mis enemigos están ganando la batalla.

Mi nombre es Tim Paynter. Soy abogado en Denver, Colorado. Vivo en una comunidad
hispana de inmigrantes.  Apoyo fuertemente una reforma migratoria justa que incluya un camino rápido a la ciudadanía.  Estoy aquí para preguntarles a mis hermanos
latinos si debo permanecer a su lado.

Tim al momento de abordar uno de los autobuses de la caravana.
27 DE JUNIO – 03 DE JULIO DEL 2007

About lavidanueva

I am making up lost time in a fruitless effort trying to collect pieces of green paper labeled 1, 5 10 and 20. I am seeking spiritual progress and self discovery while I venture forth and try to help others.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Piolin En la Manana-Was It Discrimination? “Guerro” Attorney given the boot!

  1. Pingback:   Was it Discrimination-Piolin en La Manana? by zapizapi

  2. lavidanueva says:

    Por favor, mandame un correo electronico privada. enlavidanueva@yahoo.com. Esto tipo de cosas necesitamos hablar en privada. Conocemos el processo es largo y a veces en cuando, injusto. Cuando una persona esta rechasado por la sistema legal, es muy dificil a poner todo bien. Lo siento. No soy licensiado en Texas, entonces no se si puedo ayudar te en specifico. Pero deja me ver si hay algo que puedo hacer, pero primero por favor, mandame este correo. Es obvio que estas sufriendo mucho y mi corazon esta contigo. Creo El Senor tiene su plan, ojala, a darselo su sueno y todo que te mereces. Hasta pronto, que Dios te bendiga. Tim Paynter

  3. lavidanueva says:

    Estoy despacio en respondiendo. Por favor, advisame de tu caso. Tim

Leave a Reply

